PROJECT POSTCARDS FROM MAIDAN: Ivan Ilchenko from Rivne

PROJECT POSTCARDS FROM MAIDAN: Ivan Ilchenko from Rivne

Voices of Ukraine

03.13.2014 Postcardsfrommaidan.org
Translated and edited by Voices of Ukraine

Postcards from Maidan is an art initiative that helps facilitate the psychological rehabilitation and physical recovery of patients. Artists visit the wounded and use drawings as a storytelling mechanism of Maidan. The wounded are later presented with the drawings. This is the story of one Maidan protester. This is story #13.

tumblr_inline_n2bx2g5xDM1sadrc3Ivan Ilchenko, from Rivne Oblast, beaten by law enforcement.

“I’ve been on Maidan since December 9, I came from the Rivne Oblast [region], Dubny District after the students got beaten up. I left my job and came to Maidan. I’m from the [Little] Bears. Have you heard about the ‘Bears?’ This is the First Company [Sotnya], first defense company. The [injuries] that you see on me—these are little flowers. I don’t consider myself a hero; we had tons of these heroes. If I were alone, I would really not have done anything. There…

View original post 1,132 more words

One thought on “PROJECT POSTCARDS FROM MAIDAN: Ivan Ilchenko from Rivne

  1. This banner in the back is disturbing. I’m sure you’re attracted to Europe as a civilisation. I don’t really think you need the euro, at the same time many Europeans want to shed it, and even politicians and economists who helped it happen say it was a mistake. And you certainly don’t need your sovereignty taken away by unlected bureaucrats in the European Commission.

Leave a Reply

