Film Director Oleg Sentsov: “My country, for whose freedom I fought, will not abandon me.”

Film Director Oleg Sentsov: “My country, for whose freedom I fought, will not abandon me.”

Voices of Ukraine

By Halya Coynash
06.05.14 kharkiv human rights protection group

1401925765 Oleg Sentsov

Dmitry Dinze, lawyer representing Oleg Sentsov, the well-known Ukrainian film director, has said that Russia’s FSB used torture to extract testimony from his client.  The FSB are claiming that Sentsov, together with three other people from the Crimea, was involved in a terrorist plot.  All four have been active in peacefully protesting against Russia’s invasion and annexation of the Crimea. Sentsov was also active in the AutoMaidan movement.

Dinze has told RBK that the FSB prevented him from seeing Sentsov for two weeks so that the bruises would have time to disappear.  On June 4 he lodged a complaint with the Investigative Committee demanding that a criminal investigation be initiated against the enforcement officers who he accuses of beating and threatening his client and exceeding their powers.

The complaint states that a plastic bag was pulled over…

View original post 708 more words

One thought on “Film Director Oleg Sentsov: “My country, for whose freedom I fought, will not abandon me.”

  1. Pingback: Film Director Oleg Sentsov: “My country, for whose freedom I fought, will not abandon me.” - Israel Foreign Affairs News

Leave a Reply

